Traveling Service Trip & Finding a Sonic [Texas]

When I originally added this item to my list, I envisioned myself doing some sort of international service trip–digging irrigation ditches Ecuador, helping with conservation efforts in South America, or working with schoolchildren in Afria.  I even considered doing something like the JET program or interviewing with TFA in a different city.

None of that happened. Which is okay. Because guess what did happen?:)

My floormate at the time, Sarah, and I decided that building with Habitat for Humanity sounded like a fantastic way to spend a Spring Break.  We went to a couple of meetings and BAM !  we ended up in Texas, helping put the finishing touches on a house that prior volunteer groups had helped construct.

We painted…

And caulked (I was obsessed with caulking.  I think I caulked every square inch of molding in that house.  Ha!)…

…and did other installation-esque things, like putting in cabinets, fire alarms, shelving, and molding.

Our group slept in a local church that had a youth center and a gym.  When we weren’t building, we played capture the flag and dodgeball and watched movies on the youth center’s projector (Borat or the Departed…both SOLID choices).

One night, we set out on a mission to find a Sonic.  I was really stoked about crossing off two bucket list items in one trip! They didn’t have them then in the midwest at the time, so naturally we Milwaukeeans figured those delicious drinks must be a myth.

‘Lo and behold…mission accomplished!!!

Look ma…they’re real!

Go figure that just a few short years later, they built a Sonic right in Milwaukee.  By then, it had lost its appeal, though🙂

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Find a Sonic, Miscellaneous, Texas, Travel - States and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments

