Learn How to Cook One Thing Extremely Well – Apricot/PB Granola Bars

Okay, granola bars.  Take two.

I decided that the first batch, was too baked-good-esque and that I needed something a little bit more CHEWY!  I still want to stick to my real food principles, though–no sugar substitutes, unnecessary fats, or additives allowed in these bars.

After surfing some blogs cookbooks for recipes, I created my own little mixture.  It subs out the wheat flour for rice krispies and leans on the side of a no-bake bar.  Here’s the recipe I followed:

1.5 cups Rice Krispies

1.5 cups quick – cooking oats

1.5 cups honey

1.5 cups peanut butter

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 cup chopped apricots

I melted the honey, pb, and vanilla over low heat and then mixed with all of the other ingredients.  Afterwards, I pressed the mixture into a shallow pan and stuck them in the fridge to harden.

The Verdict

Taste = A+.  Apricots are the way to go in terms of dried fruits in your granola bars.  Balanced with the peanut butter, it almost tasted like a PB & Jam sandwich!

Texture = not quite right.  They were kind of soggy and needed to stay in the fridge to avoid falling apart.  I think I need a stiffer “glue”, and might have to venture out to find more binding agents besides honey & PB.  Any suggestions?

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in How to Cook 1 Thing Extremely Well, Learn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Learn How to Cook One Thing Extremely Well – Apricot/PB Granola Bars

  1. Darlene Barrowclift says:

    HI, I found this recipe which shows promise:

    http://www.best-ever-cookie-collection.com/granola-bar-recipes.html

    Good Luck!

Comments

