Find a Career that is Fulfilling

Last week, my brother emailed me this picture:

The sad part is that he hit the nail on the head – lately, I’ve let myself slip into self pity and make somewhat serious remarks jokes about the above.

It’s hard to write about this topic and not seem ungrateful.  Really, I am fortunate and proud to be employed, especially in my field of study out of college.  Yet as much as I try to convince myself that I can like my job, I just–well–can’t.

It’s not college-to-workplace transition pains.  I’m no stranger to early mornings and I expect work to be tough sometimes.  It’s something more deeply rooted, as if I’ve set out down the wrong path and if I don’t make a change soon I’ll get in too deep to make a safe detour.

When I try to explain  this to other people, I inevitably get tidbits of advice.  They all are well-intended, I am sure, but rarely does one actually seem applicable.  Here are my chronicles of the worst:

Just do what you love : Nope, not buying it.  I love to color, but I can’t make a living doing the circle method or staying inside the lines.  More likely than not, doing only what you love is not going to pay your bills.  Make it better:  Just do what you’re exceptionally good at.  I’m with Marcus Buckingham on this idea 100%.  It just makes so much more…sense…that channeling your strengths rather than your “likes or loves” will turn you into a dynamo.

You can be whatever you want to be:  Again, this is a hard sell.  This implies both the impossible and instant gratification.  The impossible being that I want to be the next Nora Jones but I break windows when I sing.  Also, being “whatever I want to be” requires time & monetary investments, additional education, and a stroke of luck.  Yep, maybe someday I’d get there but it’s not going to happen overnight.  Make it better: Given time & taking your God-given talents into account, you can become the best possible version of yourself.  

Just scale back on your work hours:  …because I wake up in the morning pumped for OT?  The thing is, working a ton of hours wouldn’t be the issue if I didn’t have a lingering guilt for missing out on quality time with the people that matter.  Make it better: Search for a job that allows you to strike the work/life balance that fits your situation.  If you don’t have family nearby or a significant other, working 80 hours a week might be your “sweet spot”; for others, it may not be.  My point is that the # hours shouldn’t be the issue.  If you can find a balance where neither work nor home feels consistently cheated, who cares how many hours you work?

Get an accounting degree:  I know that this one was well intentioned, and that the giver was just looking out for my future job security.  Here’s the thing, though: even if I got an accounting degree and was “set for life”, it would still take me 4 times as long as the average CPA to arrive at the same (though correct) answer.  Also, I’d make great personal sacrifices just to stay at a mediocre performance level.  Make it better: Sorry, this piece of advice is a loser.  And will continue to be a loser.

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Find a Fulfilling Career, Life Milestone and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Find a Career that is Fulfilling

  1. Pingback: Find a Career That’s Fulfilling – A Starting Point | The Other A-List

  2. Pingback: Find a Career That’s Fulfilling – In Progress | Je suis Aimée

  3. 6307barrowa says:

    Thanks for the confidence Aunt Jenny! 😀 None of the advice above was from family members actually!

  4. Jenny says:

    Hope we didn’t give you one of these tidbits of advice:) As always, we just want you to be happy:) You will find it Aimee…I know it!!

Comments

