Wine Tasting

Someone once tried to convince me that chocolate is a vegetable.  They claimed that eating chocolate fulfilled the 9-a-day requirement since–technically–the cocoa bean was a plant.

Normally I’d disagree, but today I’m going with it because I may or may not have had chocolate for dinner on Friday night.  I’m going to go with may.  And I’d feel a heck of a lot better about that decision if each decadent truffle was on par with a carrot.   So let the tour de veggie begin…

Milk Chocolate Peaches & Cream Truffle + New Age N/V Torrontes & Sauvignon Blanc

Double Dark Truffle + Willow Crest Pinot Gris 2010

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter & Banana Truffle + Entwine Food Network Chardonnay 2009

Milk Chocolate Honey Truffle made with Local Heritage Prairie Farms Honey + Entwine Food Network Cabernet Sauvignon 2009

White Chocolate Pistachio Truffle + Entwine Food Network Merlot 2009

Jalapeno Spice Infused Dark Chocolate Truffle + Wilderness Estate Shiraz 2008

I forgot to take a picture of the last station, which had a dark chocolate hazelnut truffle with Pedro Romero Cream Sherry N/V.  I really don’t care much for sherry, but decided to try it anyway.  It must of been pretty good sherry because my opinion of it went from “terrible” to “really really bad”.

Part of this bucket list item was to know which kinds I like and which kinds are better left in a dusty cellar somewhere.  This part was surprisingly easy.

If white >>> then Pinot Gris.

If red >>> then Cab Sav & Shiraz.

If Sav. Blanc, Chardonnay, Merlot of Sherry >>>  then dusty cellar somewhere.

If Graham’s decides to make the (new) dark chocolate peanut butter & banana filled truffle a permanent part of their repertoire>>>>then my trips to their store will be much more frequent😀

Besides my wine and vegetables obscene amount of chocolate, the whole evening was a blast.  The alley between the two Graham’s locations (next door to the original chocolate shop, there is a small cafe) was decorated beautifully, B and I made some new wine-loving friends, and the rain held off just enough to not drench us.

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Wine Taste and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wine Tasting

  1. Pingback: Write a Letter of Thanks for a Good Product/Service | The Other A-List

  2. Pingback: Write a Letter of Thanks for a Good Product/Service – Check | Je suis Aimée

  3. Jenny says:

    Oh man…I would have loved doing this! Looks like so much delicious fun!

Comments

