Visit All Countries in the EU – Ireland, Part 4

…continued from Miles 1 – 6, Miles 7 – 15, and Miles 16 – 20.

Mile 21: On our way out of Galway, my friend spots a castle, so we stop to play explorer.

Mile 22:  Nearby the castle is a small little cafe that lifts everyone’s spirits.  We grab some lunch “for take-away” and head south to the Cliffs of Moher.

Mile 23:  We arrive at the Cliffs of Moher.  We intended to be there earlier in the day, but due to the nature of driving in Ireland, we get there just before sunset.  What a fortunate accident…I can’t tear myself away as the light plays tricks on the cliffs.  We stay until the sun sinks and head back to Dublin.  At this point, butter me up.  I’m toast.  I reach my hotel room, and fall asleep fully dressed, shoes still on.

Mile 24:  After getting some much needed rest, we kick off the last morning in Dublin with coffee and a walk in St. Steven’s Green.  We then stop at the post office to touch the bullet holes (a reminder of the civil war in the 1920s), and spend a good chunk of time in the Chester Beatty Library.  To tag the CBL as just a library would be an injustice; really, it’s a display of Chester Beatty’s personal collection of books, paintings, and decorative somethings.

Mile 25:  We grab lunch at the Larder, sweets from Queen of Tarts, and make our final tourist round with a tour at the Jameson Distillery.

Mile 26:  Our last night in Dublin and everyone is subdued.  I savor my Guinness and dread the plane ride tomorrow.  I can’t believe it’s over already!

Miles 26.2:  Another country.  Another pint glass (which I may or may not have found on the streets of Dublin).  Excuse me while I hibernate for a week, go to bed at 8pm every night, and not even look at a beer.

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Ireland, Travel - Abroad and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Visit All Countries in the EU – Ireland, Part 4

  1. Pingback: Peace Out 23… | The Other A-List

  2. Pingback: Havasupai Falls – The Beginning | The Other A-List

  3. Pingback: Peace Out 23… | Je suis Aimée

  4. Meg S. says:

    We went all over. Galaway, Dublin, Cork. We were there for 10 days so we got to see a lot of it. I can’t wait to go back!

  5. Meg S says:

    Thank you for posting this recap and pictures. My husband and I went to Ireland in 2010 and loved every minute of it and it was nice to relive the memories.

Comments

