Peace Out 23…

Holy toledo, I’m 24! Time for a birthday checklist:

Last night I was laying in bed going over a different kind of checklist. A year in review, if you will. If anything, this has been the year of the unexpected.

  • I almost lost my dad to a severe Myocardial Infarction. Luckily, he was working at the time (coincidentally he is an emergency room physician) and was saved by a fast response team.
  • Sufficiently spooked by such a close call, my family has become very serious about cleaning up the way we eat. We exercise more, sweat the small stuff a little less and bond over oatmeal.
  • I said a very difficult goodbye. And I’m finally okay with it.
  • My granddad was diagnosed with colon cancer. He has since had surgery to remove the tumor and is recovering nicely.
  • I launched this blog. Looks like JSA has a birthday in March too😉
  • I accepted a new position at work (more on this later!)
  • I started running regularly. Well, let’s be honest. By run, I mean jog. And by jog, I mean pathetically struggle along.
  • I went abroad again – this time to Ireland (Check it out: I, II, III, IV).
  • I visited 3 more of the 50 states: Maine, Pennsylvania, and Georgia.

Reviewing 23 made me excited for 24…and when I’m excited, I add things to the bucket list. Here are my additions!

Start recording some of the meaningful conversations I have with complete strangers. After the fact, of course. It would be really strange, otherwise.

Memorize how to say “cheers” in 10 different languages.

Go to a really wacky festival.

We will see what this year brings, but it’s already off to a good start. Off to hang out with family and friends for the weekend🙂

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Birthdays & Other Holidays, Life Milestone and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peace Out 23…

  1. Lauren Schultz says:

    Happy Birthday Aimee! You know, Milwaukee has some pretty wacky festivals, so I think that may warrant a visit…

    • Aimee says:

      Thanks, Lauren!!! I’m actually on my way up to Milwaukee on April 28th for the Great Milwaukee Race. After the race, want to meet up for drinks? I think I’ll be staying at Sarah’s apt…so I’ll be around Sunday, April 29th too!

Comments

