Keep in Touch With Old Friends – Tailgate Trivia

My college roommate and I invented the Stop Moving in the fall semester of our junior year.

Sarah & I shared a room the size of a shoebox for the fall since she would be studying abroad in the spring. Even though we shared a room, we barely saw each other during the week. As an editor of the Marquette Tribune, she clocked long hours cranking out newspapers. I bounced between my campus job, Raynor library, and the Rec faster than a ping pong ball.

One day, I came home so exhausted that I could barely see straight. I flopped down on my bed and let my limbs turn to spaghetti. Sarah came in not long after, and–afraid that she had woken me up–asked if I was napping.

“Nope. I’m having a Stop Moving.”

“A whada whada?”

“A Stop Moving. You. Just. Stop….Moving.”

“Can I join you?”

“Hell yeah.”

So we laid on our backs, stared at the ceiling and talked about God knows what. Probably about the intricacies of the cinema. The point is that we just put the world away for a minute. No technology, no studying. Just a chance to recharge and reconnect with a friend.

That was the first of many. Over the next year, the Stop Moving became our own little code for taking a break from life’s craziness, even if just for a hot minute.

A few weeks ago, Sarah and I were catching up after playing phone tag around our hectic schedules. She was going to visit in March, and mentioned that she’d be joining her boyfriend’s church trivia team one night while she was in town.

“Hold up.  His church? What kind of church is this?”

“You know, the kind that has trivia.”

“Right on.  Can I join you?”

“Yes!  Let me see if there are still tickets…”

Turns out there were tickets still available, so I snagged one, made a pasta salad,  and drove to join St. Bede Church’s annual tailgate trivia bonanza.

It was so great to see Sarah, Jim, and our friend Bob again.  Life gets so crazy that sometimes you don’t realize how long it has been since you were last together.  Last Saturday was the perfect opportunity to just recharge and reconnect with old friends.

This is the future of the Stop Moving.

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Keep in Touch with Old Friends, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments

