Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Life’s been coming at me fast, so it’s been hard to find time to post.  I have lots of great updates, though, and I promise that they’re on the way!

But first, let’s talk running.  So far, weekend virtual runs have been great motivator.  I suggested them to my running buddy, Joelfel, as a way to train together for June’s 10-miler even though we live in different cities.  As the week comes to an end, we decide on a distance and promise that–sometime over the course of the weekend–we’ll run the distance and send “evidence” to the other person (i.e. log it on MapMyRun or take a picture of our treadmill screen).

March 30/31 mileage was set at 5.0 miles, which I ran inside and had a hard time finishing.

April 7/8th was set at 5.5 miles. It was beautiful outside, so I did a nice little loop around a few of the neighborhoods around here.  I was surprised because I felt better running outside than I did on a treadmill. With shorter distances, I usually prefer the hamster wheel, but maybe outdoor is going to be key as I push beyond the 5-mile mark.  I have two pieces of evidence for this run.

One that makes me proud…it’s slow but I did it!

And one that embarrasses me…the goal here is to simply not die, but it was a close call.

April 14/15: Rest week.  I was in NC visiting my ol’ camping bud (more on this later!)

April 21/22: Goal set at 6.0 miles.  I’m officially a big baby.  After the April 7th run, I was stoked to run outside again.  I drove to a new trail, enjoyed some beautiful scenery…

…and then decided I was freezing.  I snapped a MapMyRun evidence pic, and then headed inside to finish up the rest of mileage on the treadmill.  I know, I know.  Diary of a wimpy kid.

I felt really good about this run, so maybe this whole thing is working and someone won’t have to carry me across the finish line.  Oh! And I almost forgot!  I’m building up my running playlist.  A little 90s never hurt anyone.

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Run a 10K, Sport and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments

