Find a Career That is Fulfilling…Check?!?!

Last August, I finally decided to do something about being unhappy in my job. It hit me that no one would solve my problems but, well, me. So I put on my big girl panties (and, let’s be honest, probably pulled out a wedgie) and tried to make sense of what I should be doing. Check out more details about this charade here.

So where did all of this get me?

At first, nowhere. I continued in my job and kept an eye out for job postings within and outside of my firm.

And then one day something fell into my lap, parachute-army-man style. My manager pulled me aside and explained that she was approached by the lead of a small internal finance / IT group. They were looking to add a team member based in Chicago. She thought I’d be an pretty good fit.

The team was tiny–consisting of only seven members across the North and South America. And they were the “go-to” support for those in my current financial analyst role. Coincidentally, I had contacted them many times in the past for help with various issues. They were friendly encyclopedias that had a knack for speaking in “plain English”.

I agreed to give it a shot and, with the encouragement of my manager, submitted my résumé in early December. The next month was a whirlwind of interviews. I spoke with nearly every member of the tight-knit team and was impressed. Part geek squad member, part financial analyst, part jack of all trades…as a team member, you did it all.  I wanted in.  Badly.  This was right up my alley and I could just feel it!

I was selected as a part of the team in early February and have spent the past three months getting my feet wet. It’s a small team and I walk into every day not knowing what kind of troubleshooting I’ll have to do.

Most oftentimes I get the standard question: How do I do…..________?

Other times I get the panicked: I made a huge mess of things, and I need to fix it.  Help!!!

And sometimes it’s just a conversation that starts with: I know what I’m supposed to do, but I just don’t understand how it works. Can you explain it to me?

So far, I absolutely love it 🙂  I will keep you posted on how things go over the next few months as I get more involved with the team.

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Find a Fulfilling Career, Life Milestone and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Find a Career That is Fulfilling…Check?!?!

  1. Pingback: On Lemons, Kindness and Turning 25 | The Other A-List

Comments

