Lighthouse Run – Countdown Begins!

The Lighthouse Run is a week from Saturday, and I feel ready!

I’ve continued with most of the virtual runs with my pal in Milwaukee; however, I’ve met a recent road block in my training in having to deal with a recent health issue.  But that’s not very fun to talk about.  Preparing for crossing the finish line on Saturday is.  So onward!

This morning’s run was a steady and strong 5 miles.  As I was running this morning I was thinking about how I’ve trained my brain as well as my body.  Here are some of my favorite mental “tricks” for when I really hate running.

  • The first three miles are the hardest for me.  I just keep promising myself that soon I’ll find my stride and then I’ll feel like the runner that I’m not.
  • Sometimes running in silence is just what I need at the end of a long day.  I have no distractions and can really rehash anything that’s been eating away at me.  After 5 miles, though, I’m bored as hell (you runners who claim you can run for days without getting bored–teach me your ways).  Usually, I’ll bring my music, keep it off initially and then plug in later.  It gives me a huge burst of energy right when I want to quit.  I’ve started compiling a playlist for Saturday below 🙂
  • Enlist the help of a buddy.  It’s hard finding someone who is as slow as I am the same pace as me, runs are more enjoyable when I do.  You don’t even have to talk about anything…just having the company works wonders.
  • Start hydrating hours before you run.  Since I usually run at night, I’m drinking water all day.  Nothing is worse than convincing yourself to keep running when you’re cramping up from dehydration.

This week I’ve been cherry-picking some of my favorite jams to create a playlist for Saturday.  Here are some of of my go-to running tunes, but I welcome suggestions!

Running Man’s Bible – Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers

Make Her Say – Kid Cudi/Kanye/Common

You Make My Dreams – Hall & Oates

Dog Days – Florance & the Machine

Roll Up – Wiz Kalifa

Two Princes – Spin Doctors

Say Hey (I Love You) – Michael Franti & Spearhead

Up Up & Away – Kid Cudi

Follow you Down – Gin Blossoms

Pumped Up Kicks – Foster the People

Rain King – Counting Crows

90201 – Wale

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Run a 10K, Sport and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments

