Napkin Math

Time for some napkin math.

For the past 2 years, 5 months and 15 days, I have commuted into the city from the ‘burbs.

My commute–counting the time I leave my parents’ house to the time I walk into work–is 2 hours, one way.  That is 4 hours per day.

  • For the first year, I commuted 5 days per week for 50 weeks (two weeks vacation that year).  50 weeks * 5 days/week * 4 hours/day = 1,000 hours
  • In the second year, I worked from home 1 day/week and then later 2 days/week.  So–to make this easy, let’s say I commuted 3.5 days/week for 49 weeks (three weeks vacation that year). 49 weeks * 3.5 days/week * 4 hours/day = 686 hours
  • This year, I’ve worked from home twice per week and only commuted 3 days/week for approximately 22 weeks.  22 weeks * 3 days/week * 4 hours/day = 264 hours

So–not that I’m counting or anything–but over the past 2 years, 5 months, and 15 days, I’ve spent 1,950 hours commuting.

That is 81.25 days.  Barf.

To be fair, I chose to stay home with my parents, save money, and absorb one life change at a time.  Recently, though, I’ve started to get my butt in gear to buy my own place (more on this marathon of a process later).  I call it Operation:  Move Out.  So creative, I know😉

At the end of the day, I’ll still have some sort of commute, so let’s just assume that I can cut my commute in half by moving.  Let’s also assume that the commuting schedule from year 2 will be the norm going forward (3.5 days commuting each week).  That means that over the next 2.5ish years , I will effectively gain:

120 weeks * 3.5 days/week * 2 hours/day = 840 hours = ~ 35 days

During yesterday’s run, I was brainstorming things I could do with myself in the 35 days that I no longer stand to lose in my life:

  • Tear up my monthly passes, ten rides, and the tickets I’ve gotten for leaving my car in the train station parking garage overnight.  Use as confetti on New Years.
  • Actually eat dinner at a real table, instead of on the late train home.
  • Actually eat breakfast at home, instead of on the early train in.
  • Sleep in past 4:50 am..on a weekday!
  • Workout at a normal hour instead of late at night.
How do I feel about all of this?  This pretty much sums it up:


About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Life Milestone, Own My Own Home and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments

