Run a 10K…Turned 10 Mile

Fact: I am not a runner.  I have crap knees from the yester-years of gymnastics, and I’m fairly certain that I look like a dying hippo when I run.

Somehow, God had mercy on my soul and helped me finish my first 10-mile race.  Originally the goal was just to finish a 10k, but when the opportunity to run the 10-mile  presented itself, I…errr…ran with it.  This was one smelly post-race pic!

Photo credit: Joelfel

Fact: Beer was an incentive and I made a shirt to broadcast my true motivation.

Photo Credit: Joelfel

Fact: While Joelfel decided to channel Flash and finish in 1:12, Lauren and I discovered that we are kindred running souls, forever paced at 10 minutes per mile.  I wish this was approximate, but if you run an exact 10 minute mile for 10 miles, your time will be 1 hour and 40 minutes.  Our time was…you guessed it.  1:40.

I honestly don’t think I could not have finished the race without her running by me the whole time matching my stride, and our high-fives at mile markers.

Photo Credit: Joelfel

Fact:  This is a classic awkward Aimee face.

Photo Credit: Joelfel

Fact: This non-runner is going to sign up to for a half marathon.

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Run a 10K, Sport and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Run a 10K…Turned 10 Mile

  1. Pingback: On Lemons, Kindness and Turning 25 | The Other A-List

  2. Pingback: Run a 1/2 Marathon | The Other A-List

  3. Brian Beatty says:

    Congrats on the 10 miler, that’s a major step up from the 10k! Have you thought about a half marathon at all? There are some really great ones now with tons of people to cheer you on the whole way. It makes it seem to go by really quickly and is a great time.

    • Aimee says:

      Thank you!! I am tossing around the idea of a half marathon in September (there’s a really cool one up by the MLB park for the Milwaukee Brewers) or some Chicago ones in October. I’m thinking–with more training–I could limp along for three more miles😉

Comments

