Bull By the Horns…or Something Like That

After whats seems like a 18 straight months of the the what-if game (What if I move in with a friend/rando on Craigslist/rent a studio?  What if I live in the city/burbs?  What if I bought a place?), I stopped playing.  Granted, it’s a good practice to force yourself to look at all possibilities.  At the end of the day, though, you have to ask yourself just one question:  What do I want?

The answer came easily.  I want to move out, and downtown because my commute blows. I also want to buy, and I’ve saved enough to swing it.

So–great–awesome–I had this decision and zero clue on how to start.  I may or may not have googled “how to buy a house”.  Heaven help me.  But I kept on googling.  I read, and re-read, and then read something else until I had a basic idea of what I needed to do.

Then, I started chatting up virtually everyone I knew.  One co-worker gave me the name of the mortgage broker that had given her the best rate.  Another co-worker gave me the name of the buyer’s agent she recommended.  A friend suggested that I consider financing through credit union, as they have a tendency to have better rates.  I asked my dad for the name of his lawyer.  I soaked it all in. These people had done it before, so their 2 cents is worth a lot more to me.

Finally, I got my act together:

(1) I sat down and was honest with myself and my money.  What do I have in savings…sitting right now in cash?  What savings can’t I touch but could use as collateral? What bills will go away when I move?  What new bills will I have?  Warning:  This step is plain ol’ depressing.  I recommend you have a hugh jass cup of coffee.  

(2)  I called the mortgage broker and a local credit union.  The conversation with both went something like “____ referred me to you.  I think I  need something called a pre-approval.  But I’m new to this and not really sure.  Can you help me?”

(3) I “shopped around” and ended up calling the buyer’s agent suggested by my co-worker.  True to form, I had an awkward Aimee moment and referenced “Operation: Move Out” in our initial conversation.  As if the realtor and I were in cahoots.

(4) I started looking.  I had a rough idea of how much I could spend and looking online at sites like Trulia helped me to understand how much “house” that bought me.  Warning:  This step is plain ol’ exciting.  I still recommend that you have a hugh jass cup of coffee.

Just when I was feeling like I was failing at this whole process, my grandmother sent me the following email:  (Yes, I am aware of just how amazing it is that my 89-year old grandmother emails me.  She also comments on my Facebook photos.  She is awesome.)

I am so proud of the fact that you have become such a responsible young woman.  You “take the bull by the horns” and go after what you want and that’s a great characteristic. Look forward to hearing from you sweetheart.

Hmm.  Bull by the horns.  Something like that.

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Life Milestone, Own My Own Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments

