One Year Ago, Today

Eleven years ago, today, al Qaeda terrorists hijacked commercial planes and crashed them into the Twin Towers and the Pentagon.  Nearly 3,000 people were killed that morning, thousands more left to grieve the loss of loved ones.

It is sobering to think about the events of 9/11, but at the heart of the documentaries, articles and my own recollection, I see one theme.  Rebuild.

Joel Meyerowitz, a photographer who spent 9 months inside Ground Zero in the aftermath of 9/11 saw it too.  In his video essay, he has said that “I thought that…I could document the evolution of the site from rubble to empty site ready for renewal”.  In his video essays (Part II is just as powerful), it’s clear that the rehabilitation effort was due largely to the firefighters and volunteers that cared about the preservation of the site and the victims’ legacy.

One year ago, today, my dad survived a heart attack that would have killed him, had he not been in the emergency room when it happened.  Although to others, his heart attack doesn’t approach the enormity of what happened to our nation on 9/11, on a personal level the foundation of my world was shaken.

But again, even here, there’s the whisper of resiliency.  Rebuild.

Documenting the journey from cardiac failure to a heart “ready for renewal” has made its way onto my list.  While I have some posts in the pipeline about his topic, the most important thing I’ve learned is not about what foods to eat or how often to exercise.  It’s to surround yourself with people who will hold your heart with as much–if not more care–than you do.  People who will rehabilitate you and who care about what story you leave behind.

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Birthdays & Other Holidays, Life Milestone. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Year Ago, Today

  1. Pingback: On Lemons, Kindness and Turning 25 | The Other A-List

Comments

