Learn More About My Grandparents’ Lives – The Great Depression

A couple of weekends ago, we had Grandma Peggy over for an 89th birthday celebration.  She and Ed came over on Sunday for lunch, presents, age jokes and cake!

As we were chatting, I was amazed by how much life this woman has lived.   Not only that, but when she spins a yarn, you realize that she is decidedly not vanilla (Read: boring, tasteless…in my experience vanilla people tend to wear loafers).

Always ready with a kind smile, you’d never guess that she has beat cancer (twice), survived a risky heart surgery, and buried a husband and daughter.  Grandma Peggy is the type of person who packs contraband confetti in her suitcase so that you can “have fun once your parents leave” on New Years.  She’s the type of person to join a bike riding club and tap dancing troupe into her 70’s and then paints/sell watercolor paintings into her 80’s.  She’s the type of person with a contagious laugh who tells pretty stellar stories.

I got to thinking about how I could preserve her stories and I realized that we had videos stashed–somewhere–of an interview of her recollection of the Great Depression and the War.  With the help of a tech-savvy brother, we posted them in two parts on youtube.   I hope you enjoy them as much as we did!

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in About My Grandparents' Lives, Learn. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Learn More About My Grandparents’ Lives – The Great Depression

  1. Pingback: On Lemons, Kindness and Turning 25 | The Other A-List

Comments

