Run a 1/2 Marathon

After running the Lighthouse Run 10-miler in June, I started challenging myself with longer weekly runs and was surprised to find that my body was responding well.

Then, earlier this month, I ran the Hot Chocolate 15K in Chicago to get another mid-distance run under my belt.  Running-wise, this was a great race for me.  Upon crossing the finish line, I felt capable of running further and a half marathon seemed within reach.

When I got home from the 15k, I bit the bullet and registered for the Schaumburg Half Marathon Turkey Trot.  This was my first half marathon, so I was really nervous about making it the full 13.1 miles.  I kept up my training, hydrated like mad and made sure I had some sweet jams to power me through the inevitable “can I curl up and die now?” thoughts that haunt mile 11.

Then–despite all my preparation–I wound up with a nasty cold the day before the race.  Ugh.  Staying home wasn’t an option, so I got a good night’s sleep and slammed some Sports Beans (the Havasupai trip started this addiction).  Given that I was sick, my goals were to simply to (a) finish and (b) not walk.  This was going to be one snotty race.

At the start line, I huddled near the 9:55/mile pacers, thinking that I’d need to stay around a 10 min/mile to make the full 13.  Throughout the race, though, I felt like my baseline pace was a little faster.  Eventually, I found myself in front of the 9:32/mile pacers for a total time of 2:02:05 (that’s a 9:19/mile pace…WHO AM I?!).

Right as I was about to cross the finish line, I saw someone holding a sign that said “Your feet are tired–from kicking so much ass.”  :D I thought it was appropriate.  I currently want to cut everything below my waist off, but I’m so happy to have finished…I feel empowered that I’m finally getting the hang of this running thing.

I can finally check off “Run a Half Marathon” from my list.  I’m so glad that my biggest fan met me at the finish to see me do it.🙂  Thanks, dad!

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Run a Half Marathon, Sport and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Run a 1/2 Marathon

  1. Pingback: On Lemons, Kindness and Turning 25 | The Other A-List

  2. Brittany says:

    Awesome job!! Your time is GREAT and you were sick!! YAHOO!!

    • Aimee says:

      Thanks for stopping by & for the encouragement!! I was definitely shocked at the finish time…it sounds weird, but I think the cold weather actually helped me to not feel so sick while running.

Comments

