No One Is Going to Do It For You

Big news on the suburban front!  After months upon months of house condo hunting, the headache of securing financing and scraping together the last little bits of a downpayment,  I am the proud owner of my first lil’ home.  Fi. Nal. Y.  It has been a hectic couple of days, starting with last Friday’s final walk-through and closing.

This last stretch progressed relatively smoothly, which you’d never imagine given the hurricane of activity leading up to signing the papers.  The hardest part of it all was handing over the check for the downstroke and closing costs.  That check represented three years of God-awful commutes, hefty overtime and lost sleep.  All of that sweat equity summed up into this small little check that took 2.5 seconds to hand over.  Surely the closing agent had no idea the value of what she held in her hand.  How could she possibly?

When I was given the keys at the end of closing, my excitement was colored with a little disbelief and sheer exhaustion (anything more than 5 hrs sleep would be great).  Above all, though, I was proud.

IMG_0803

IMG_0806

After the closing, we headed back to condo where I called the utilities companies to get myself set up.  Once I could finally exhale, the knots in my stomach eased up and I realized that I hadn’t  eaten all day.  Mom and I took this lil’ picture (under contract…hey, that’s me!) and then headed out for celebratory burgers.  My poor burger didn’t even stand a chance.

IMG_0810

After burger inhalation, we headed back to the parental base unit, where I burned the midnight oil packing up the rest of my shit belongings.  Finally, at about 2 AM, I had a trunk full of things to give away to Goodwill, plus another growing pile ready to load into the car. Bucket List item De-clutter:  Get Rid of 100 Things was definitely accomplished…like 20 times over.  I probably gave away more than 100 t-shirts alone.

I packed my car with cleaning supplies and boxed up kitchen items, went to sleep for a few hours, and then drove back down to the condo in the early morning to get started.  The previous owner was not a very cleanly person, I must say…we spent the entire day cleaning the kitchen and windows alone.  They were THAT disgusting.

IMG_0830

In the late afternoon, my dad went to Home Depot “for a few things”.  Dads in Home Depot are like kids in candy shops.  Here are his “few things”.🙂  In all seriousness, though, I’m glad that he knew what he was doing.  He wired a new thermostat, added a smoke detector, and got me essentials like a fire extinguisher, WD40 and gorilla glue.  What a guy.

IMG_0815

Just before leaving for the night, I painted some yellow swatches on the bedroom wall (I have my heart set on a yellow bedroom.  Judge all you want…this is happening).  I didn’t want to commit to a color before trying it, so I got the little $2 samples from Home Depot so I could “try before I buy”.  I let that paint do it’s thaaaang, and we headed back home late that evening.

IMG_0816

Sunday was spent changing light switch/outlet covers,IMG_0824

…painting…IMG_0826…and setting up some lone Christmas cheer (my mom is seriously the best).

IMG_0821

IMG_0825I’m nowhere near moved in yet, but so far I have a clean(er) condo and a yellow bedroom.  It’s  start, no?

The best part of the entire weekend was the amount of support I got from my dream team parents.  They always taught me to work hard to for what I needed…and even harder for what I wanted because–in the words of my dad–no one is going to do it for you.  The cool thing is, once I made the leap for something that I had worked really hard for, I didn’t have to do it alone.  They were right there beside me, actively participating in the creation of my dream.

I also had some wonderful visits from friends who stopped by throughout the weekend to check in, have a beer and receive the 3 minute “grand” tour.  You guys are awesome, and I’m one lucky girl.🙂

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Life Milestone, Own My Own Home. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to No One Is Going to Do It For You

  1. Pingback: On Lemons, Kindness and Turning 25 | The Other A-List

  2. Pingback: Remodel All the Things! | The Other A-List

  3. Dan procaccio says:

    It’s bad luck to paint under ladders homes

  4. Pat Behnke says:

    So proud of you Aimee….what an awesome looking place to call your own! Can’t wait to visit!!!…Imagine 4 extra hours a day for all the things you want to do besides rotting on the train!!!

  5. Sandy Smith says:

    Aimee: Congrats on the new condo! Loved looking at the pics. Your parents are terrific too! Good luck with your new home, just in time for Christmas.

  6. Chase Guarnaccio says:

    I feel that it’s my duty to make a joke about your vertically challenged father on a ladder, stretching his best to reach the ever elusive ceiling….but I will restrain myself…haha. The place looks great! That’s awesome you already have your own place, I’ll have to get the “grand tour” one day.

    • Aimee says:

      Hahaha chase, it is hilarious…the ceilings aren’t even that high either🙂. And yes, definitely, I will give you the 3 minute grand tour when you’re back in town!

  7. Lauren says:

    I’m so happy for you and I can’t wait to see it! Also, after personally having a yellow bedroom, I’d advocate for it. It’s nice to wake up somewhere sunny, so yellow = good choice.

  8. Peggy Barrowclift says:

    What a treat!…having my coffee and watching the events happening these past few days. Aimee, your condo is so nice. With your added touches it will be “your very own home” and I am so happy for you. I agree, your parents are “the very best”!

  9. Lynn Reale says:

    Congratulations on your new abode, Aimee! I enjoyed reading your entry and the pictures. Merry Christmas!

Comments

