An Ode to Nashville


Remember talking about the idle Tuesdays of life?  K, great, me too.

Remember also allowing for the possibility that something might just fall into your lap (you don’t have to agree…I’ll keep going regardless).

Finally, remember how I thought opportunities like that would present themselves while out drinking with friends?

Whelp, I was right.  I was in the midst of this…

90719a28-6b53-4015-81eb-a4fcc8a722b6wallpaper

…when I agreed to road trip down to St. Louis and Nashville.  It was a short lil’ trip and I spent less than 24 hours in the land of the honky tonks, but boy oh boy did we fit a lot of country music into those 24 hours.

So, in tribute to the mecca of country music, this post will hitherto be an ode of patchwork country lyrics.  This might will be messy.  And probably won’t make any sense.  But here goes.

*Ahem*

There’s nothing that’s worth keeping me; from the places I should go; From happyville to lovingland; I’m going to tour from coast to coast.  I’m leaving everything behind; There’s not much that I need.  Cause if I ain’t got nothing…I’m footloose and fancy free (Tim McGraw, Last Dollar).

IMG_0934

We all got a hillbilly bone down deep inside; No matter where you from you just can’t hide it; When the band starts banging and the fiddle saws; You just can’t help but hollerin’ YEE-HAW (Blake Shelton & Trace Adkins, Hillbilly Bone)

IMG_0965

IMG_0987

Now I’m not big on social graces; Think I’ll slip on down to the oasis; Oh! I’ve got friends…..in low places. (Garth Brooks, Friends in Low Places)

IMG_0959

I was a rock star, party hard; Gettin’ over you comeback kid; Hey I musta did; What all my friends say; Yeah, yeah, yeah (Luke Bryan, All My Friends Say)

IMG_1010

IMG_0994

(Whoa-oh) Never gonna grow up; (Whoa -oh) Never gonna slow down; (Whoa-oh) We were like shinin’ like lighters in the dark in the middle of a rock show. (Jake Owen, Barefoot Blue Jean Night)

IMG_1025

IMG_0988

Crank up the band, play the steel guitar; Hank it up a little, let’s rock this bar; threw back a shot, yelled “I’m a George Strait junkie; “Ah-ooh-hoo, play somethin’ country”; “Ha-ooh-hoo, play somethin’ country” (Brooks & Dunn, Play Something Country)

IMG_0983And I miss my Tennessee home; But I can see the ways that I’ve grown; I can’t see this world unless I go; Outside my Southern Comfort Zone (Brad Paisley, Southern Comfort Zone)

TN

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Tennessee, Travel - States and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Ode to Nashville

  1. Pingback: On Lemons, Kindness and Turning 25 | The Other A-List

  2. Pingback: Keep in Touch With Old Friends – Raleigh Edition | The Other A-List

  3. Michael says:

    Interesting…

Comments

