Remodel All the Things!

My dad has this little habit of overdoing things.  What starts out as a simple, easy plan will morph–without fail–into a more elaborate version of itself.  We affectionally poke fun at him by quoting this scene from National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation whenever an “easy” plan is on the brink of complication.

Xmas Vacation

Ellen: You set standards that no family activity can live up to.
Clark: When have I ever done that?
Ellen: Parties, weddings,
Clark: Goodnight Ellen.
Ellen: …Anniversaries, funerals, holidays vacations, graduations…
Image Credit [http://www.hark.com/clips/pvnfbblzdj-you-set-standards-that-no-family-event]

I think I have to stop making fun of him because I’ve realized that I’m cut from the same damn cloth.  Let me explain.

In December, I finally cashed in on my years of commuting and bought a condo in Chicago.  The first weekend, my parents helped me to clean the place, paint my bedroom yellow, move some small things, etc.  As we were chatting, I mentioned that I had received more money back from the closing than I had anticipated.  My dad suggested that I use the money to refinish my wooden floors prior to moving any “real” furniture in.

What a great idea, I thought!  Project: Move In stepped aside to let Project: Refinish Floors come to the front.  Soon, the floor refinishing expanded to re-tiling the kitchen and bathroom, which grew into redoing my entire bathroom and before I knew it, I was like:

remodel all the things!

Image Credit [http://cdn.memegenerator.net/instances/400x/23736968.jpg]

Yep.  I’m definitely my dad’s daughter.  Check it out the progress, though.

Bathroom Before (Left) –> Refinished tub/new tile (Right)

Screen shot 2013-02-10 at 4.14.11 PM

New Bathroom (Left) and Kitchen (Right) Tile

Screen shot 2013-02-10 at 4.29.31 PM

As with all things, there were some hiccups, but thankfully I was working with a great contractor who helped to smooth out the bumps in the road.   Hopefully we will be able to wrap up the rest of the renovation work soon!

I’ll keep y’all posted!

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Life Milestone, Working My Way Down the List.... Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remodel All the Things!

  1. Pingback: On Lemons, Kindness and Turning 25 | The Other A-List

  2. Pingback: Things That Scare Me | The Other A-List

Comments

