On Lemons, Kindness and Turning 25

I’m 25 today.  I’m 25 today.  I’m…screw it.  Let’s talk about something else, yeah?  How about some other things to celebrate on this day?  Yes, that’s definitely better than talking about my age.

March 16th is the day that a dear friend received a life-saving transplant.  We like to think of it as her “re-birth” day 😉  This particular friend does not count English as her first language, but she sure has a way with words.  She has given me some of the best advice.  Here are some of my favorite little bits of her wisdom:

  • On positive attitudes: “When life gives you lemons, you can either embitter or make gin & tonics”
  • On moving on: “The best thing I can tell you is that you should go ahead and say everything you have to.  Everything you were made to feel.  Don’t save anything for yourself–whatever you leave unspoken, that’s what will come back to you.”
  • On smiling:  “Smile so that it cannot fit your face!”

March 16th is the day that Melanie would have turned 40.  Melanie is a family friend that passed away 5 years ago from peritoneal cancer.  She left behind two young boys and a void in the family that loves her.  In her honor, my family walks as Team Melanie Strong in the American Cancer Society Walk & Roll every year.  As a tribute to her 40th birthday, please consider participating (albeit virtually) in Mel’s 40th with 40 Acts of Kindness.  It’s super easy, I promise!  Just do one act of kindness–extend gracious words, volunteer, call up an elderly relative, make someone feel special.  Why?  Because love and kindness are never wasted–they always make a difference.

EJB_8657

Photo Credit: Eric Bessonny, 2009, Walk & Roll Chicago

EJB_8715

Photo Credit: Eric Bessonny, 2009, Walk & Roll Chicago

March 16th is also the day that *sigh* I turn a quarter of a century old.  Man, the things that can happen in a year.  In the past 1/100 of a century, I…

Screen shot 2013-03-13 at 7.57.20 PM

Now, I just need a birthday anthem & a new bucket list item.  Well, it’s clear I need to learn to make pancakes.  Like for real.  Also, if you need an anthem and do NOT pick Alabama Shakes, something is wrong with you.  You should probably check your vitals.

Okay bye! I’ve got a bucket list to attend to!  I’m getting old!

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Birthdays & Other Holidays, Life Milestone and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments