And I’ve Got Two Tickets

I read the book Eat, Pray, Love and wasn’t thrilled.  Liz Gilbert whines a little too much for my taste and–on more than one occasion–I wanted to smack her through the pages and say:

giraffe

So, around the time she leaves India and heads to Bali, I tossed the book up on my shelf, never to be read again.

The movie, on the other hand, was really well done.  Julia Roberts portrays a less whiny, more exploratory Liz Gilbert.  Plus the locations (Italy, India, and Indonesia) are a character in and of themselves with such breathtaking beauty!

There is a quote from the movie that I think of often.  It goes like this:

Italian joke

I’ve been itching to travel abroad since I got back from Ireland last February but hadn’t taken any action to make it happen.  Until now.

So I’ve decided to fashion my own Eat, Pray, Love adventure.  Sans whining.  And I’ve got two tickets (there & back).

Over the course of 2+ weeks, a friend and I will be traveling to Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam.  I want to swim in blue waters & hang out at beach parties in Thailand, temple-hop & bike through Cambodia and immerse myself in the history of Ho Chi Minh city (Saigon).  I want to live out of a backpack and not care about my hair or my email accounts.

I’ll be blogging often in the coming months in preparation for my trip as a means to share my planning process and solicit suggestions from my blogging friends.  Please feel free to contact me or comment to share your experiences or tips! 🙂

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in Cambodia, Thailand, Travel - Abroad, Vietnam and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And I’ve Got Two Tickets

  1. Lauren says:

    I’m so glad I’m not the only one who couldn’t finish Eat, Pray, Love. I found myself saying “get over yourself” way too much and gave up when she was somewhere in India.

    I have no doubt that you will do a much better job of recounting your traveling tales. 🙂

    • Aimee says:

      No, you’re not alone! I found myself giving too many pep talks through the pages and it was…exhausting! As for recounting my travel tales, I suppose I have to think of my verbs since Eat, Pray, and Love are now take haha.

Comments

