Learn More About My Grandparents’ Lives – 90 Years in Review

A few weekends ago, we celebrated Grandma Peggy’s birthday. Friends and family gathered at her neighborhood clubhouse where we looked at the numerous picture displays, shared a luncheon, and toasted her 90 years!

DSC06226 (1)

photo (12)

In looking over the picture boards on display, I was surprised to find out a few facts about my grandma:

  • She was the secretary of the Civil Air Patrol (my grandpa Bob was a member). This picture was taken at American Airport, which became Douglas Airport and is now known as O’Hare International.

IMG_6993

  • She oil painted over GI’s black and white photos so that the GI’s parents could have a color photo of their son. This picture was taken in 1944 at Fort Leonard Studio on the army base.

IMG_6992

  • She was one of the finalists in a Fort Hood pin-up girl competition and sewed the gold bikini she wore for the contest.
IMG_6996

On the way to the pin-up competition

IMG_6997

Wearing the infamous handmade golden bikini.


IMG_6995

  • I found three pictures that I absolutely love of my grandmother. I didn’t know that these existed until I saw them on display at the party. Isn’t she beautiful?!

IMG_6998 IMG_6994 IMG_6991

The entire afternoon was lovely and my grandma was very moved to see all of us gathered in honor of her very full life!

About Aimee

I'm a 25-year old living & working in the ol' Windy City while chipping away at my bucket list. My blog chronicles my adventures :)
This entry was posted in About My Grandparents' Lives, Learn and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Learn More About My Grandparents’ Lives – 90 Years in Review

  1. Pingback: On Panic, Wii Brackets, and Turning 26 | The Other A-List

Comments

